Reviews

Read and share reviews and testimonials for Ashton Family Restaurant located in Manassas VA. We value your feedback.

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review

Privacy Policy: We respect your privacy and are committed to protecting the information that you share with us. No information you provide will be shared with any third parties. Please be advised that some of our pages include links to the other websites that have their own, possibly different, privacy policies. Should you click through a link to another website, we encourage you to read the privacy policies on the linked sites before providing any information.
* Required Field

The food is always pretty good

Oct 23, 2017 by Mary S.

The breakfast selection is very good. And the food there is always pretty good. But the soda there every time is flat. Every. Time.
The service is also pretty good. The alcohol selection is decent. But kinda basic. They have several Hispanic dishes as well. Lots of variety in their dishes. And plenty of options. Great French fries. Just very flat soda. For the years I've been going it's always flat. So just get water lol.


DELICIOUS

Oct 22, 2017 by Suzeette K

From the outside, this place looks fairly unremarkable, but inside, you will discover DELICIOUS fare! They have American items, but the truly tasty ones are the Italian, Greek, and Mexican items.

Styled in a diner fashion, the decor is fun to enjoy while awaiting food. The waitstaff is polite, knowledgeable, and welcoming. It's obvious that they enjoy their workplace, which I think really is indicative of owners who care about their staff as well as they do their customers. I love that.

My gluten intolerance dictates what I can eat, but I absolutely love the soups. On Mondays, they have a fabulous lemon chicken soup. My all-time favorite soup is on Wednesdays...the amazingly delicious cream of tomato soup! Seriously, I cannot get enough of this tomato soup.

Because I can't eat bread, I ordered some guacamole & tortilla chips. The guacamole is better than the one that the local Mexican restaurant serves! My husband loves the bread, which they serve with seasoned olive oil for dipping.

I recently had the grilled pork-chops, which were seasoned to perfection. The accompaniment was mixed vegetables, which had been sautéed in a rosemary infused olive oil. Delectable!

I typically get a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon here, but my husband recently discovered their signature beer. I think it was called the Ashton Lager, but they brew it themselves. I'm not a beer drinker, but my husband enjoyed two of them and was very impressed.

I'm looking forward to our next Wednesday visit, for that tomato soup!


Great coffee and attentive service

Aug 10, 2017 by Jennifer P

I am a sucker for breakfast at a local diner! Great coffee and attentive service. The Cuban French toast was amazing. Delicious French toss with toast coconut and a side of plantains. My companions had the gyros omelet (looked great) and poached eggs -- also looked good though she said they had a slight vinegar taste. Maybe the water has too much in it. But overall a wonderful relaxed meal.


Go to place for breakfast

Jul 09, 2017 by Chris R.

So this place is one of my go-to places for breakfast in Northern Virginia.

It's a little restaurant in a non-descript shopping center that looks kind of run down and lacks parking on busy Saturdays and Sundays, but those are honestly the only criticisms I have of this place.

I came here today (Sunday) and had the buffet. The food is great here. Every time I have been here, the food has been consistently good and the service, with a couple minor exceptions in the past, has been consistently good as well. The buffet normally consists of your normal breakfast foods that include not only an omelette bar, but home fries, bacon, eggs benedict, waffles, french toast, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit (normally just cantaloupe and strawberries), some pineapply-dessert type of thing in small cups, and pink and white marshmallows...kind of odd, but still good.

In any event, for being a hole-in-the-wall type of place, it's super clean, the staff is super friendly, and the food is excellent.


We'll be sure to stop back!

Jul 02, 2017 by Megan D.

First time eating here, while visiting friends in the area. We all got the breakfast buffet & it was delicious! They have an omelet cook ready to make your favorite ingredients. He was kind and my omelet was very good! The bacon was crisp and not some rubbery bacon like some buffets. They even have fruit fondue table. The staff was very accommodating to our group of 10. On a Sunday morning. We'll be sure to stop back!


My go to diner

May 09, 2017 by David G.

Rapidly becoming my go-to diner in Manassas.
This diner opened up about 15 years ago, when Mexico Lindo moved. I gave them about six months before they would go belly up. Here they are, 15+ years on, going strong. Really good for breakfast and lunch; good food, good service, good value. Dinner,not so much; not a really good date night place.


This place never disappoints!

Apr 22, 2017 by April C.

Ashton is a family favorite for a tasty Saturday breakfast and a phenomenal brunch on Sundays. The service is great and the food is, also. I've had lunch here a few times, but the breakfast menu is my favorite.
Update! I just tried the lasagna for lunch and it's phenomenal.... I wish I had room to eat more!


The food was great.

Mar 19, 2017 by Alexia B.

Friday night a week ago I was calling around all the major breakfast food chains (IHOP, Bob Evans, Denny's) on Sudley rd trying to reserve a large table for the following (Saturday) morning but none accepted reservations. I was organizing a 7th grade travel basketball team's breakfast which with parents was 16-18 people. I finally thought of Ashton Family Diner and gave them a ring. The gentleman who answered the phone was polite, professional and happy to reserve our table. I called early the next morning to confirm our reservation were indeed legit (i guess I was nervous someone would drop the ball). We had a 10:45am reservation Saturday morning which is obviously the busiest time for all diners. We walked in immediately to our tables ready and waiting for us.

Our server was fantastic! Not only did we have 18 people but we also had about 6-7 SEPERATE CHECKS; every servers worst nightmare. She did an amazing job not only being efficient with service but also organizing our checks! Not one hiccup with the checks.

The food was great. Everyone seemed to be happy, parents and tweens alike. Portions were large and no one left hungry. I personally had the Cuban French toast and it was AMAZING! Ashton family diner offers such a huge variety between American and Central American cuisine and everything in between it seems.

It felt great to support our community by dining at a privately owned restaurant versus corporate franchise. I highly recommend Ashton Family Diner for anyone and everyone. One of the parents even said this place might have to be our go to spot for team meals. It just might be! Thanks Ashton Family Diner!


Packed

Jan 04, 2017 by Bob T.

I was here on a Saturday morning. The ample, brightly lit, and clean seating area was packed. It appeared that at least 1/2 the people were regulars. I don't mean the kind of regulars that had been there a few times, I mean the kind of regulars where the staff knew the patrons by name and knew enough about then to carry on conversations. An auspicious start, if ever there was one.

I ordered one of their weekend specials, the ABC omelet. That's a three-egg omelet with Avocado slices, Bacon, and swiss Cheese. It came with a side hash browns, home fries or grits (I substituted a side of sliced tomatoes), a portion of fruit, and either toast or pancakes. Everything was delicious with one personal exception. The coffee was excellent (and I'm a bit of a coffee snob).

The one non-delicious item was the pancake syrup. It was gooey, tasteless, brown-colored junk that was a disservice to anything it's poured on. If I think of it for my next visit I'll sneak in some real maple syrup or avoid ordering anything that would need it.

The service was great and the waitress was delightfully surly. She mentioned a Sunday brunch buffet and a Tuesday all-you-can-eat pasta special

I will definitely go back to this place the next time I'm out that way and recommend you do so as well.


TERRIFIC!!!

Dec 17, 2016 by Heather R

I've been to this restaurant enough times and tried it dine in and take out. It's time to give my review. IT'S TERRIFIC!!! This is home cooked heaven. You walk in and smell like you're at home. You've got your locals and random customers. They all look at you to figure you out. Chat volume is good. It's always comfortable there. These folks go the extra mile to make your visit so welcoming. It's like being at a 5 star restaurant. There is a small salad bar and online pre-order menu which comes in handy when in a rush. The restroom is clean and stocked. Now about the food. That menu is massive!! I've tried at least 6 items from it and ALL were good and filling. I like when you order an item and it tastes like what it is supposed to. I was a slow frequenter, but now, I can't wait to get back to try everything on that menu. They have daily specials and I don't even want to miss a dish of the day. Parking is easy and ample. Seating is plentiful. it's a tad tight, but hey, it's family! If you want a place you can sit alone or with friends and get treated like family, this is it.


Ashton Family Restaurant Manassas VA , USA 4.7 5.0 28 28 Couldnt decide what I was in the mood for, so chose this spot since they had a large variety. Place was quite busy at 11:45am on a Sunday. They do a breakfast buffet as well as a b
Page:
123

Please go on-line and search for more reviews. We greatly appreciate the time our customers take to leave kind reviews and for referring your friends and family. We also want to hear from you directly if you have any suggestions on how we can make your dining experience even better. Call 703-330-5151 and ask for the manager on duty!